Matchborough First School Academy

Home Page

Matchborough First School Academy

Home Page


Jigsaw PSHE

At Matchborough First School we have introduced a whole school PSHE scheme called Jigsaw.

Jigsaw combines PSHE, emotional literacy, mindfulness, social skills and spiritual development. 

Jigsaw is designed as a whole school approach, with all year groups working on the same theme (Puzzle) at the same time. This enables each Puzzle to start with an introductory assembly, generating a whole school focus for adults and children alike. Jigsaw aims to help children know and value who they really are and how they relate to other people in this ever-changing world.

There are six Puzzles (half-term units of work) each with six Pieces (lessons). Every year group studies the same Puzzle at the same time.



The puzzle pieces that each year group follows can be found below. 

To find out more about Jigsaw please read the Parent/Carer information leaflet below.

Relationships, Sex & Health Education


An important part of the Jigsaw PSHE programme is delivered through the 'Relationships' and 'Changing Me' puzzle pieces which are covered in the summer term. 


There are four main aims of teaching RSHE:

• To enable children to understand and respect their bodies
• To help children develop positive and healthy relationships appropriate to their age and development
• To support children to have positive self-esteem and body image
• To empower them to be safe and safeguarded.


Each year group will be taught appropriate to their age and developmental stage. At no point will a child be taught something that is inappropriate; and if a question from a child arises and the teacher feels it would be inappropriate to answer, (for example, because of its mature or explicit nature), this information will be shared with you by your child’s class teacher. The question will not be answered to the child or class if it is outside the remit of that year group’s programme.


Below is a summary of RSHE coverage within the Jigsaw scheme for each year group:
• Foundation Stage - Growing up: how we have changed since we were babies.
• Year 1 - Boys’ and girls’ bodies; correct names for body parts.
• Year 2 - Boys’ and girls’ bodies; body parts and respecting privacy (which parts of the body are private and why this is).
• Year 3 - How babies grow and how boys’ and girls’ bodies change as they grow older.

Intorduction to puberty and menstruation.
• Year 4 - Internal and external reproductive body parts, recap about puberty and menstruation and conception explained in simple terms.


Welcome to our school website!